Speak with a Covered California certified agent! Call (888) 413-3164 or Shop Online Now

Shop and Compare

California Health Insurance Plans and Rates

It's easy. Just enter your zip code.

Covered California Q&A

Covered California and Obamacare related questions from consumers, employers and agents are answered by Phil Daigle with the best information available at the time. Archived entries may no longer be accurate as the Covered California and Obamacare knowledge-base is evolving quickly. TO REQUEST A PERSONAL RESPONSE INCLUDE EMAIL ADDRESS.


Penalties After January 1?

By on | 1 Comment

Question: When does the clock start on penalties for not having health insurance? Is it January 1 or March 31, 2014?

Answer: Originally, the ACA the minimum essential coverage provision stated that an individual must pay a penalty if he or she does not have coverage for more than three consecutive months in a year. But the feds just published an FAQ concerning the open enrollment period for individuals purchasing qualified health plans. The guidance states that individuals will be able to enroll throughout the entire enrollment period, which lasts through March 31 2014, and not be subject to the individual shared responsibility payment. A person enrolling after March 15th will not be covered until May 1st, well over the three consecutive months rule.

1 Comment

Have u published guidance if u live 6 months in CA and 6 in az as a retiree below 65 years age

Leave a comment

Do You Have California Health Insurance Questions?

Ask An Expert

View Previous Questions
Call Us at (888) 413-3164


© 2019 California Health Benefit Advisers, LLC
Home / About / Start Shopping / Ask a Question

“Covered California,” “California Health Benefit Exchange”, and the Covered California Logo are registered trademarks or service marks of Covered California, in the United States. This web site is owned and maintained by California Health Benefit Advisers, LLC, which is solely responsible for its content.